2 Comments

!!!Great opening line!!!

I’ve recently started reading The Day of the Triffids By John Wyndham, and I just thought I’d share with you the first line.

triffids

Not many books have a first line that has me interested from the word go. Writer’s get told it’s an important thing, but I think few actually accomplish it. Which, I guess I’m glad for, because if every book I picked up had that first ‘power-line’ which grabbed me by the shoulders and sat me to attention then wouldn’t we start to take them for granted? It’s nice to stumble across something and really be blown away by it. If every first line in every book was as effective it wouldn’t be special anymore, would it? And what’s more, I wouldn’t be blogging about it!!! So here it is…….

 

“When a day that you happen to know is Wednesday starts off by sounding like a Sunday, there is something seriously wrong somewhere.”

2 comments on “!!!Great opening line!!!

  1. That IS a great opening line–intriguing, relatable, and I’d definitely read more.

  2. John Wyndham is one of my favourite authors. The concept of otherworldly or unnatural forces controlling the masses can be found in another of his books, The Midwich Cuckoos. Like HG Wells’ exploration of the subject, Wyndham explores the idea of decay being as likely as progress in an increasingly Godless world; one that is increasingly fragile and unstable, where enemies can come from within or from beyond…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 103 other followers

