Leave a comment

The Library Book – The Reading Agency

The Library Book was entertaining, witty and sentimental. And true. While my experience in libraries may be different from others within the book, I felt some connection with each story, memory and essay, on a topic that it close to my heart.

“At the age of around seven, I decided that I would read every single book in Loughton library.”

                                                                                                                                                                  –          Anita Anand

The blurb for the book reads,

‘Whether brand new or steeped in history, real or imagined, libraries feature in everyone’s lives. In memoirs, essays, and stories that are funny, moving, visionary or insightful, twenty-three famous writers celebrate these places where minds are open and the world expands.’

“reading makes all of us more thoughtful, better informed and more productive members of a civil society.”

                                                                                                                                  –          Seth Godin

The Library Book had been published in support of The Reading Agency, which is an independent charity with a dedicated mission to ‘inspire more people to read more.’ They are committed to encouraging people to feel confident and inspired to read. Furthermore, they believe that everyone has the civil right to have access to free books within libraries, regardless of their background. And they strongly believe that reading changes lives and creates a better society for all.

To find out more about The Reading Agency log onto to their website,

http://www.readingagency.org.uk/

or follow them on twitter @readingagency

“They are still to me places of incredible glamour, possibility, excitement and pleasure.”

                                                                                                                                                                                              –          Stephen Fry

                                                      On his first visit to a library, Lionel Shriver was,

“Let loose in my personal version of a sweet shop, I scurried about amassing a stack of treats-”

“I would not be a writer if it were not for the public library system.”

–          Val McDermid

As for me….

I felt the same excitement when I first walked through the doors to my local library. I was in awe. Excitement rattled through my stomach as the smell of the old books hit me – still, I must say, one of the smells that takes me instantly back to childhood. And I was too a little scared at the prospect of so many books, so many stories and so many words.

This book feels me with my own memories of entering the mysterious world of the library. Where, for free, I could take books home and devour them! For free!

Now, as luck would have it, I get to enter a library on an almost daily basis. I work there!

I remember the magic that I held in my heart when I went to the library, when I had a book in my hand, when I sat my teddies down in a row upon my bed and read to them….and to be able to see the same magic upon the faces of children now is wonderful.

Unfortunately, many children come in now and by-pass the books upon the shelves and sit down upon the computers. But I hope that my optimism of the continued discovery of the joy of reading will win through the growing dependence on technology for a faster pace of life.

“They are cathedrals of the mind; hospitals of the soul; theme parks of the imagination.”

                                 –          Caitlin Moran

         “The more I read, the better I did at school, and the more sense every lesson began to make”

                                                                                                         –          Bali Rai

“Libraries aren’t supermarkets; they’re places of cultural importance, where magic happens and where dreams begin. Or at least they should be.”

–          Ann Cleeves

“Fundamentally, reading creates better societies. This is not a theory. This is a quantifiable fact: there is a direct correlation between the rate of literacy in a nation and its success. This is why the funding of libraries should be a matter of national security. Keeping libraries open, giving access to all children to all books is vital to our nation’s sovereignty.”

–          Karin Slaughter

“Libraries open the doors to all to share in the magic of words.”

Me.

Leave a Reply

