Leave a comment

The Importance of Being Earnest

I had never read The Importance of Being Earnest by Oscar Wilde until the other day and now, after starting and finishing it in a few hours, for the life of me, I can’t explain why I hadn’t.

Simply excellent!

Here’s some quotes that I loved – in fact there were loads that I loved but I whittled it down to a handful otherwise I’d be transcribing the lot on to here.

Algernon: Relations are simply a tedious pack of people, who haven’t got the remotest knowledge of how to live, nor the smallest instinct about when to die.

Algernon: The only way to behave to a woman is to make love to her, if she is pretty, and to someone else, if she is plain.

Algernon: More than half of modern culture depends on what you shouldn’t read.

Lady Bracknell: Never speak disrespectfully of Society, Algernon. Only people who can’t get into it do that.

Jack: Gwendolen, it is a terrible thing for a man to find out suddenly that all his life he has been speaking nothing but the truth.

Gwendolen: The suspense is terrible. I hope it will last.

Leave a Reply

