2 Comments

Edward I’ve come back to you – Jane Eyre

 

 

Charlotte Bronte’s Jane Eyre is one of my favourite novels.

It has been turned into films numerous times and last night I watched the latest motion picture version (2011), with Mia Wasikowska playing the lead role, with Michael Fassbender playing the dark and foreboding Mr Rochester.

I thought this version was alright – different from the other versions that I have watched, but far from my favourite. I thought that each of the actors played their parts well, and it’s always a joy to see Dame Judi Dench on the big screen.

But I was a little unsure about Wasikowska’s accent….

The story tends to skip through Jane’s life a bit too briskly, and because I know the story well, it did feel a bit disjointed at times.

A sense of moodiness, brought about by the ruggedness of the moors, which epitomizes the Bronte sister’s work, works well, and if you watch it as a good, honest film you can’t go wrong. No matter which version I watch I am still captivated by the story and the love they have for each other; Jane and Edward are able to melt each others hearts, and you can’t help but feel all warm and lovely inside whenever you watch or read the story.

The other versions that I have watched are

1943 version with Orson Welles as Mr Rochester, and Joan Fontaine as Jane.

1997 television version with Ciaran Hinds as Mr Rochester and Samantha Morton as Jane.

2 comments on “Edward I’ve come back to you – Jane Eyre

  1. Ironically, I have just come from downstairs where my wife and I finished watching the 2011 version of Jane Eyre. We liked it; however, we did have some reservations. Like you we too thought it skipped over Jane’s life too quickly; it seemed that the plot was underdeveloped. Nevertheless, we enjoyed it. What is your favourite version?

  2. To be honest I don’t really have one. I did like Ciaran Hinds as Mr Rochester though.

Leave a Reply

