Leave a comment

A new direction is needed

A book is a fragile creature, it suffers the wear of time, it fears rodents, the elements and clumsy hands. So the librarian protects the books not only against mankind but also against nature and devotes his life to this war with the forces of oblivion.

–  Umberto Eco

 

 

A new day is dawning for me. In the midst of the library closures, restructurings, reshufflings I am one of the unlucky ones who will have to venture about of public library services and embark upon a new career, a new life.

My ultimate dream would be to write. Full time. And obviously to earn enough from my work, whether this be from novels, non-fiction, short stories, articles for magazines, it’s what I want to do and decidedly what I am.

Unfortunately right this second, I’ll need another job/career to keep me going until my dream is realised.

And I find myself asking, but what?

For the past few years the job market has been precarious, and having to jump back into that market again is daunting. For I want to find something that a) I enjoy and b) allows my to have time and effort to spare to devote myself to my ultimate passion. But at this point I need to find c) a job.

And while I continue to work in public libraries (the end is not here yet but is rushing towards me head on), I will start to look for something else. But most importantly, I will continue to write.

I keep telling myself that reduced hours as the end approaches, only buys myself more time to write. Which is true. But however much I like writing, I also need to earn a living. My writing in the near future will probably not get me there. Yet.

I have read blogs, twitter feeds, all sorts. Advice given to writers on how to develop their writing, overcome writer’s block, writing a novel, non-fiction, writing for magazines, how to write, why write, when to write. I think I have read enough advice that it’s growing out of my ears, but still I scour the pages of the internet for more. But only one more solution remains. I need to batten down the hatches. Swallow my pride in the event of failure. Stick to my guns. And go for it. If writing’s what I love then that’s what I should do.

And so I look. And so I write.

Leave a Reply

