9 Comments

October Indie Book Reviews – Part Two

I’ll start by explaining what I’ve been up to this month. I decided to dedicate my entire October (and possibly November too) to reading purely ‘Indie’ and self-published books. (This just refers to my pleasure reading – not novel research.)

Read more about what I’m up to here

Onto my second Indie book review,

The Emperor’s Prey by Jeremy Han

http://jeremyhan.com/

1420, Ming China

Dethroned by his uncle after a civil war, the former emperor Jian Wen narrowly escaped death eighteen years ago by becoming a monk; until his uncle, the Yong Le Emperor ordered his assassins to hunt him down.

Ji Gang, Yong Le’s chief assassin had been ordered to find a ‘dead’ man and kill him again. He had to uncover an eighteen year old trail and face formidable foes that will protect the fugitive at all cost. But he had never failed before.

Bonded by loyalty, Jian Wen’s chief bodyguard Zhao Qi was summoned out of obscurity to protect his master after lying low for eighteen years. A great warrior respected by his foes, he will rise again in the service of his Master.

Yula loved a wanted man. Persecuted by her own people, he was all she had. When he gave her a chance to be free, free to love and live, she seized it regardless of the danger that he will drag her into.

A vast and mysterious empire,

A murderous uncle,

An innocent man,

A team of relentless killers,

A brotherhood of warriors,

A woman who would kill to live,

One final battle

http://jeremyhan.com/books/

The Emperor’s Prey by Jeremy Han is a riveting read. It is clear that the plot has been excellently researched and developed and he beautifully weaves together the various plot lines and characters.

I like novels with lots of characters so this suited me fine.

I don’t know much about Chinese history unfortunately but I was certainly captivated by the story and the history.

I thoroughly enjoyed this book and felt captivated by it from beginning to end.

All the characters were well thought through and their lives and stories come to life on the page.

Jeremy Han is a fresh talent, and reading his book was a breath of fresh air for me as I am someone who has read a lot and is always on the lookout for something new to grab me – and this certainly did that.

It is well worth a read; lookout for it.

I hope that Jeremy Han keeps on writing and creating, for it would be a real shame if he did not.

I would give the novel 4/5.

9 comments on “October Indie Book Reviews – Part Two

  1. Dear Louise, thank you for your kind words. it made my day. Indie writers, the new ones especially, need a lot of encouragement. It is for readers like you that I am now working hard on the sequel to The Emperor’s Prey. Can I have your permission to reproduce your review on my facebook page and website? Also, may i request you put the review for me into amazon? The link is here: http://www.amazon.com/The-Emperors-Prey-ebook/dp/B009HJBR3Y/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1351695683&sr=8-1&keywords=the+emperor%27s+prey

    • Dear Jeremy. I totally agree that Indie writers need all the promotion they can get and my blog was to prove that there is some genuinely brilliant work out there by Indie writers just waiting to be discovered. I’m excited to hear that you’re working on a sequel! Of course you can have my permission to reproduce my review on your website and I will put the review up on Amazon for you too.
      All the best for future work! Louise.

  2. Thank you Louis! Keep in touch! I am much indebted to you.

    • Hi Louise, how are you doing?

      can i trouble you to let me know when you put a review for me in amazon? my internet marketer is doing a blast, so he needs to have all the reviews in by next week. Would greatly appreciate your help in this. Thanks a million in advance!

      • Hi Jeremy. I’m fine. How are you?
        I think I put the review up onto Amazon on the 1st November…
        Hope all is well!

      • Hi Louise, I’m good. Jut a little tired. Thanks for doing the review, but somehow it is not up in amazon. did it get rejected by amazon for some reason?

      • Sorry for the delay, my computer has been acting up a bit. I’m pretty sure Amazon accepted the review. I’ve had a look and it looks like its up on my end. It’s written under the name of lmhmiller (my initials) not aroundtheredmap as I signed up to Amazon before my blog was published. Hope this helps.

  3. I got it! i was looking at the wrong place. Your review came up in amazon.co.uk, but i have been looking at amazon.com. Thanks Louis for the review 🙂

Leave a Reply

