Leave a comment

The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time – Review

the-curious-incident-of-the-dog-in-the-night-time-book-cover

This a murder mystery novel.

Siobhan said that I should write something I would want to read myself. Mostly I read books about science and maths. I do not like proper novels. In proper novels people say things like, ‘I am veined with iron, with silver and with streaks of common mud. I cannot contract into the firm fist which those clench who do not depend on stimulus.’ What does this mean? I do not know. Nor does Father. Nor do Siobhan or Mr Jeavons. I have asked them.

This is a murder mystery novel with a difference.

Reading The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time was a new experience for me. I haven’t read a book like it before. It tells the story wonderfully simply but is so full of life and drama that it keeps you enthralled and unable to put it down (notice I’m not using the word ‘unputdownable’ – the word annoys me for some reason – but that’s a different story).

It’s one of those books that had sat on my ‘reading list’ for years now and I have finally got around to reading it. It is a wonderful novel and I truly recommend it. It’s out of the ordinary. It doesn’t use fancy words or phrases but it is it’s simplicity that make it work and makes the novel a fascinating one.

The tone is wonderful throughout and as true to life as I can imagine it to be following the life of 15 year old Christopher who has Asperger’s Syndrome. The novel is a breath of fresh air and in my reading experience, wonderfully unique.

It’s a sort of coming-of-age story with a difference where a young man struggles to find sense in a world which confuses and scares him.

The story, its tone and characterizations are innovative and thought-provoking. It opens the mind and for a brief moment in time lets you see into the mind and life of someone like Christopher.

Simply brilliant.

Leave a Reply

