Leave a comment

Timeline of the Indian Mutiny


Jan – rumours begin to circulate at the Dum Dum musketry depot, over the greased cartridges of the new Enfield rifle.

26th Feb – Sepoys of the 19th Native Infantry at Berhampore refuse rifle practice.

31st March – the 19th Native Infantry is disbanded in an attempt to dispel any chance of an uprising.

24th April – Troopers of the 3rd Bengal Light Cavalry at Meerut refuse their orders to fire the controversial ‘greased’ cartridges.

6th May – Part of the 34th Native Infantry are disbanded at Barrackpore.

8th May – Troops of the 3rd Bengal Light Cavalry are founded guilty by court-martial for their refusal to follow orders over the greased cartridge issue and are given severe sentences.

10th May The Mutiny breaks out and erupts starting at Meerut. The troops head towards Delhi.

11th May – Europeans and Christians are slaughtered at Delhi.

13th May – after initially refusing to join to lead them, Bahadur Shah II is proclaimed the new Mughal emperor, in an attempt to restore the old Mughal order in India. Also, in Lahore, the British disarm the garrison there.

17th May – The Delhi Field Force advances from Ambala, under the command of George Anson.

22nd May – The Peshawar garrison is disarmed.

20-23rd May – At Agra, part of the 9th Native Infantry mutiny.

27th May – George Anson dies of cholera and is replaced by Major-General Sir Henry Barnard.

30th May – Further mutinies occur at Muttra and Lucknow.

31st May – Further mutinies occur at Rohikhand and Bhurtpore (the Army rather than the infantry).

5th June – The 2nd Cavalry mutinies occur at Cawnpore.

6th June – The Cawnpore siege begins. A Mutiny occurs at Allahabad.

8th June – The battle of Badli-ki-Serai. A massacre at Jhansi.

25th June – Nana Sahib offers terms of surrender at Cawnpore, offering safe passage to the surviving Europeans to flee to Allahabad.

30th June – The British are defeated at Chinhat and the Lucknow Residency is besieged.

1st July – A further mutiny occurs at Indore.

4th July – Sir Henry Lawrence dies at Lucknow.

5th July – General Barnard dies of cholera and is succeeded by Major-General Thomas Reed as commander of the Delhi Field Force.

7th July – Havelock’s force prepare to leave for Cawnpore.

 7th July – European women and children are massacred at Bibighar at Cawnpore.

12th July – Brigadier-General Sir Henry Havelock and his forces defeats rebels at Fatehpur en route to Cawnpore.

15th July – Havelock’s forces defeats rebels at Aong and Pandu Nadi, near Cawnpore.

16th July – Nana Sahib is defeated in the first battle for Cawnpore.

17th July – Sir Archdale Wilson replaces the ailing Reed as commander of the Delhi Field Force.

27th July – Havelock’s forces enjoy another victory against the rebels at Unao.

31st July – Lord Canning issues his controversial ‘Clemency’ resolution stating against the execution of mutineers not convicted of murder.

5th August – Havelock’s victory at Bashiratganj.

13th August – Havelock withdraws his forces to Cawnpore. Colin Campbell, Anson’s successor as Commander-in-Chief of India arrives at Calcutta.

14th August – John Nicholson arrives at Delhi Ridge.

16th August – Havelock’s victory at Bithur.

17th August – Major William Hobson and his forces defeat a large body of rebels near Rohtak.

5th September – Sir James Outram arrives at Cawnpore.

14th September – The British assault on Delhi begins to return the city to British control. Nicholson is wounded.

19th September – Havelock and Outram march to Lucknow.

20th September – The siege against Delhi finally comes to an end after bitter street fighting. The British capture Delhi and cleared of the remaining rebel troops.

21st September – William Hodson captures the King of Delhi.

22nd September – Hodson executes the remaining Mughal princes.

23rd September – Nicholson finally succumbs and dies of his wounds.

25th September – The first relief of Lucknow begins.

10th October – The mutineers at Agra are defeated.

14-17th November – The second relief of Lucknow is undertaken by Colin Campbell.

19th November – Women and children are evacuated from Lucknow.

22nd November – The remaining British withdraw from Lucknow.

24th November – Havelock dies of dysentery.

26-28th November – After successive victories the British forced are temporarily set back when Windham is defeated at the second battle of Cawnpore.

28-30th November – Campbell reaches Cawnpore to join and support Windham.

6th December – Tatya Tope is defeated at the third battle of Cawnpore.


6th January – Campbell reoccupies Fategarh.

16th January – Hugh Rose begins his campaign in Central India, the last real stronghold held by the rebels.

February – Campbell opens a separate campaign for the reconquest of Oudh from rebel control.

3rd February – Rose relieves Saugor after a 7-month long siege.

2nd March – Campbell returns to Lucknow.

1st April – En route to Jhansi, Rose learns that a rebel band under Tantia Topi is nearby the River Betwa and decides to divide his troops engage Topi. Rose defeats a numerically superior army.

3rd April – Jhansi is captures and sacked. The Rani of Jhansi flees.

15th April – Walpole is defeated at Ruiya.

23rd April – Rose enters Kalpi.

5th May – Campbells’ victory at Bareilly.

7th May – Rose defeats a large rebel force at Kunch under the command of Topi and the Rani of Jhansi.

22nd May – A British victory, under Rose, at Kalpi. The End f operations in Rohilkhand. The start of guerrilla warfare.

28th May – Rao Sahib, Topi and the Rani of Jhansi and the Nawab of Banda enter Gwalior with the rest of their force and seize Gwalior on 1st June.

12th June – James Hope Grant wins at Nawabganj in the final decisive battle in Oudh.

17th June – The Battle of Kotah-ki-Serai takes place, where the Rani of Jhansi dies.

19th June – The Battle of Gwalior.

2nd August – Queen Victoria approves a bill which transfers the administration of India from the English East India Company to the Crown, effectively beginning the Crown’s direct rule of India, under the British Raj.

1st November – Royal Proclamation replacing the East India Company with British Government and offering unconditional pardon to all not involved in the murder or the protections of murderers during the Mutiny.


4th January – Various leaders from Oudh, including Nana Sahib are forced into the Nepal Terai by Hope Grant.

7th January – The operations in Oudh are officially declared over.

29th March – Bahadur Shah is found guilty.

7th April – Topi is betrayed to the British.

18th April – Topi is executed.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: