2 Comments

What to read………next?

books

 

 

I’m rarely stumped about what to read. The question that really drives me and sticks in my mind is always, what to read next? As my proverbial ‘to read’ list gets longer and longer, as I’m discovering new books and new authors out there that I haven’t read yet, mingled in with books from a series that I’m slowly working through, the decision as to what to read next becomes ever more increasingly difficult.

I always have plenty of series books to keep me going, from Bernard Cornwell’s Sharpe series to Jean M Auel Earth Children series.

And there are also books that I’ve read in the past that I’m dying to give another go. More books/authors get discovered, more books get recommended, and the books on my shelves and on my list increase. How to decide?

I’m also planning on an Indie book-read month (or two), where I solely devote my reading to those self-published works.

On top of this, I’m always on the lookout for new reads and new authors.

So dare I ask? Any recommendations?

2 comments on “What to read………next?

  1. I guess it depends on your genre preference. A fantasy book I read recently that I absolutely adored was The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss. It was kind of Lord of the Rings meets … I don’t know. Something awesome, lol. Sci-fi … Legacy of Heorot is a classic, although you’ll probably have to get it as an ebook, as I think it went out of print years ago. It’s about the Earth’s best scientists going off to found a colony on a new planet, and the madness that ensues. Fantastic read. And if you’re looking for some fun, YA sci-fi shenanigans, I must of course mention my own book, Imminent Danger And How to Fly Straight into It 🙂 Happy reading!!!

  2. Thanks for all the suggestions. I do tend to read fantasy quite a lot and some sci-fi so the suggestions were great! Nice plugging of your own book too! All the best.

Leave a Reply

