Leave a comment

Good Deeds?

Wizard of Oz: Back where I come from there are men who do nothing all day but good deeds. They are called phila… er, phila… er, yes, er, Good Deed Doers.

download (1)

I was going to write about working on my ‘blurb’ – the ‘pitch’ for my forthcoming novel and I was going to draw your attention to my first novel A Straight Path that is on sale through  Amazon.

But something has literally just happened that made me change my mind. Some one fell over in the street – fairly spectacularly as they struggled to stay on their feet – luckily they were not hurt – and they were generally fine. A slightly sore wrist, shaken from the fall and quite possibly a bruise to their ego.

Naturally, I stopped to make sure they were ok, making sure nothing was broken and sitting next to them until they felt alright again to go about the rest of their day.

A little selfishly perhaps I thought about the ‘good dead’ I’d just done. Naturally, I didn’t stay with them so could feel good about myself (that came after) but to make sure that they hadn’t hurt themselves. Because of course I didn’t go looking for someone to help. And I like to think if I hadn’t stopped someone else would have done. (Fortunately I’d just stepped out of the hairdressers when it happened right in front of me.)

[I’m not recounting this story to get a pat on the back – it simply got me thinking]

download

But should we go looking for someone to help, in whatever way, to do the oft desired ‘one good deed a day’? I’m sure once you start looking then you’ll see more and more people who may need that little act of kindness. But is it ever as easy as that? We’d all love to do one good deed  a day, but actually managing to accomplish it may prove extremely challenging, and that’s not because as a race we’re cruel and self-centered but maybe because these sort of situations don’t arise every day, or at least not in front of me all the time.

I always vow to do more ‘good deeds’. But what constitutes a good deed? Could it be as simple as letting a child press the button at the pedestrian crossing or waiting for the green man before crossing when nearby children are learning the green cross code? Or is it more extravagant than that, like rescuing someone from a burning building? Can it be that no one directly benefits – or sees the benefit? I once picked a trolley out of the middle of a quiet road which leads to a bus station. No one saw, and no one directly benefited.

I guess a good deed would be described as an act of kindness. However small and insignificant it may appear to you, it may have a greater impact on someone around you and you may not even know it.

I think the overwhelming message really is to not be so blinkered to what is going on around you. Oh and just be nice. You never know who you may be helping.

And there it is…my random (or not so random) thought of the day…..

Leave a Reply

