Leave a comment

30 things to do before 30

30 things before 30

Now loads of people have done these lists or similar; and I’m doing (or at least going to try) to do one too.

While initially thinking about my list I searched through the realms of the internet and found numerous websites and blogs dedicated to these kinds of lists. But a primary problem with them, at least from my point of view, is that while most of the things I’d love to do, they were simply not financially viable, especially within a limited time frame. So I’d like to think that my list has a bit of everything, but most of it realistic. Sure I could have done a ‘wish-list’ style list, but I wanted to think about the things that I wanted to do or accomplish before turning 30. So it may be a tad boring when it comes to other people’s lists but I want to be able to say that I managed every single one. You may also notice that I have a few fairly mundane but necessary ones in there, especially number 24.

I’m posting this list today as tomorrow is my birthday when I turn 27. I thought this was an appropriate time to start my ’30 Things’ list giving me 3 years to do 30 things before I turn 30. (Yes all the threes).

On 14 October, or there abouts, every year for the next three years, I will post a blog detailing my progress through the list.

30sparkler2

My List 

In no particular order…..

….to be completed in no particular order

  1. Be a step (have deposit ready) closer to owning my own home
  2. Go to the cinema on my own
  3. Go to a restaurant on my own
  4. Go to a midnight film showing
  5. Travel to any European city/capital
  6. Travel to Bath
  7. Travel to Cornwall
  8. Host a dinner party
  9. Do something for charity
  10. Be a step closer to getting married – no pressure Andrew (my boyfriend)
  11. Travel solo
  12. Take a ‘How to’ class
  13. Buy something expensive (and frivolous)
  14. Watch more classic movies
  15. Change my hair – either changing my hair style and/or colour
  16. Travel somewhere random
  17. Fly long haul
  18. Do a walking challenge
  19. Plant a tree (in memory)
  20. Go to the ballet
  21. Read 300 books
  22. Do 30 days of something – this could be 30 days of blogging, 30 days of drinking nothing else but water, 30 days of writing….etc…the options are endless
  23. Go camping
  24. Set up a private pension
  25. Stay awake for 24 hours
  26. Defy gravity – indoor skydiving
  27. Find the perfect LBD
  28. Learn a new skill
  29. Ultimate movie marathon
  30. Be naked for an entire day! 
Leave a Reply

