Leave a comment

If You Were Trapped on a Desert Island….

desert-island

If for some unknown reason you found yourself not only stranded on a desert island, but also able to plan which books you would take with you what book or books would you take with you?

There’s no minimum choice here, but let’s say the maximum is what you can physically carry so say up to five or six…

Obvious ones immediately jump to mind for me:

The Lord of the Rings by JRR Tolkien – an obvious perhaps boring choice, but it’s a fantastic read that I don’t think I’d ever tire of reading, but if on the off chance I do, there’s plenty of songs written throughout the book that I could try (probably badly) to compose music for.

The Stand by Stephen King – quite simple one of my favourite books. Like The Lord of the Rings it is a lengthy read giving me plenty to get me teeth into.

plus…….

Outdoor Survival Handbook: A Guide to the Resources and Materials Available in the Wild and How to Use Them…. by Ray Mears – a very practical choice (or similar titled survival book) to help me survive of course!

plus….

One of Terry Pratchett’s Discworld Series

plus…..

Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury 

plus….

Gormenghast by Mervyn Peake

plus…

oh no wait, that’s my six….hmmmmm…..It’s a lot harder than it looks…..

What about you, what books would you take, or to ask in a different way which ones wouldn’t you leave behind?

Leave a Reply

