1 Comment

My New Project

Whats-New-300x265

Well, it’s not really new (for me) but I guess it will be for you. I have mostly finished writing the first draft of my new project – there’s just a couple of things that need ironing out – and I’ve almost finished the very first and very general edit of it too.

After writing a novel I wanted to try something a little different. And in the long run I want to write both novels and non-fiction history – and this is what this new project is. [Both of which will concern the same over-arching subject of the history of the British Empire.]

I have a working title of A Show Called Empire which examines the way that the British Empire is represented in historical movies. A lot of people’s knowledge of history, rightly or wrongly, is gleaned from historical films and while we know they cannot be wholly trusted to be true to history, it is interesting to see how the British Empire and its players come across, and the over-riding impressions that audiences are left with, and how this has changed over time in the post-imperial era. So I have examined and researched a number of historical movies for this book – and some not-quite historical movies too like Indiana Jones and the Temple of Doom.

As I said I’m basically at the very start of the editing process – so it may be a while yet before everything is ready to share but I’ll keep you up-to-date with my progress.

One comment on “My New Project

  1. Sounds like a great book for history lovers, Louise!

Leave a Reply

