Leave a comment

Finding time to network and market (when writing is not your day job)

social_media_image

This is something that I have struggled with – and still struggle with – and have spoken about on several occasions: finding time to network and market.

So how I do it:

Firstly I don’t stress if I haven’t blogged or tweeted for a few days. People will realise that life happens.

But don’t let too much time pass.

Only take on a couple of different media platforms and concentrate on them; choosing which ones you prefer and work best for you.

Try to update them as often as you can – but as I’ve said before don’t stress about it if you miss a day.

Also find what works best for you in updating them – you may find that you have to be strict with yourself and pick dates and times each and every week to network and market; I sometimes find that this works for me but still my life pattern doesn’t always stay the same, so I just tell myself that as long as I update my blog several times a week I’m happy.

Don’t think you have to write pages and pages on your blog – short and sweet can work just as well and perhaps be even more effective.

I think that I’ve pretty happy with my blogging pattern, now that’s settled I just need to concentrate more of my time on my twitter and my Goodreads accounts.

Perhaps that may be a good way for you to start. Concentrate on one form of media first, until you’re happy and comfortable using it. Then add another. And then another. Again until you’re happy.

Leave a Reply

