Leave a comment

How do you get inspired?

inspirational-motivational-quotes-38

Inspiration for writers is a integral part of writing. Whether it’s inspiration for the next new project or inspiration to keep writing day after day.

I knew someone who stuck up inspirational quotes over their work space, this doesn’t work for me.

I’m my own worst critic. I tend to be pretty hard on myself, but only for a few seconds. I think about all the things that I haven’t achieved yet, or that project that I haven’t finished yet, and I know I can do it – it’s almost like I motivate myself through my own guilt. More so, because I know I can do it, I tell myself that all the time. The inspiration comes from me being hard on myself as to why I haven’t done so yet. I find the drive from all the ambitions that I have bottled up in me; I want this.

But when my project is stalling, as projects often do, I tell myself that I’ve not done enough, that I can do more, and be better. I guilt myself into inspiration.

This may seem like a negative way of finding inspiration, but it works for me. I’m my own worst enemy and I’m ok with that, it sees me achieve what I set out to achieve. We each have our own way of motivating, inspiring and pushing ourselves; what’s yours?

8c753688f9ad2aedfacfcd2888edd0bb

Leave a Reply

