Leave a comment

My Top Reads from 2015

Every year I record what I’ve read throughout the year to look back on it when the year ends as an interesting reminder. (And useful when I forget if I’ve read it already!) And again every year (it’s becoming a sort of tradition) I document my five top reads from the previous year – 2015:

My top five reads from 2015 are as follows – in no particular order:

The Count of Monte Cristo by Alexandre Dumas (which has I think fast become one of my all-time favourite reads);

the count of monte cristo

 

The Pillars of the Earth by Ken Follett (fantastic story and wonderfully written; an epic);

pillars of the earth

Gone with the Wind by Margaret Mitchell (perhaps a controversial choice given the context – but thoroughly enjoyable – Scarlett O’Hara has real gumption);

gone-with-the-wind-new-cover

The Amber Spyglass by Philip Pullman (the last in the trilogy of His Dark Materials and equally as entertaining as the others – not your typical ‘kids’ book at all – it can easily be read on so many levels);

the amber spyglass

and

The Thorn Birds by Colleen McCullough (a beautiful read and a lovely story).

the thorn birds

I can’t wait for the rest of 2016 to see what great reads and new worlds I’m going to discover.

Leave a Reply

