2 Comments

It’s so strange

It’s really quite a strange feeling when something you’ve been working on for sooo long is finally published. It’s all done and dusted with. It feels strange not to be tinkering with it further. Doing further research, reading it through again and again, re-writing, editing, or even just sitting back and thinking about it.

My recently published A Show Called Empire was such a long process and such fun that it’s almost an anti-climax when it was all done. It was such a large part of my writing life that it is so odd that I’m no longer working on it.

I am working on something else – which is lovely – but it was hard to let go.

I may find that time will lessen this feeling of loss [even though it’s a good sense of loss], especially as I get my teeth more and more into my new project.

I’m trying to remember if I felt this way over my first book, a historical fiction story called A Straight Path, but for the life of me I can’t remember. Oh well. As I said maybe time will lessen the loss, or maybe it’ll drive me to keep adding to it – or publishing a second edition or even volume to it. Right now that sounds like a great idea.

But for now I have to wave goodbye to it, send it on its way through the publishing world, so I can allow myself to get my teeth into my new project, a second historical fiction novel.

635975110236171932-1259300499_goodbye-ink-spot

2 comments on “It’s so strange

  1. I definitely feel like writing a sequel to my first book! It’s so hard to leave that world behind ☺️

  2. Performance artist Laurie Anderson says letting go and sending off your work is the hardest part of creating her art. She says she’s not a painter because she’d break into galleries and museums where her paintings were hanging and continue to work on them.

    It’s a very relatable feeling.

Leave a Reply

