Leave a comment

A Month of: This Day in History

Marilyn Monroe, American model, actress, singer and style icon and sex symbol was born Norma Jeane Mortenson on this day in 1926.

hbz-marilyn-monroe-01-7z0lrV-promo-xln

She started her professional career as a pin-up and print model yet she clung on to her dream of becoming an actress.

Norma Jeane becomes Marilyn Monroe in 1946.

She was far from just a pretty face too, she was well read, and had over 400 books on her bookshelf and the breadth of the subjects of these books tell of her intelligence and inquiring mind.

Some of her films…

Gentlemen Prefer Blondes (1953), How To Marry A Millionaire (1953), The Seven Year Itch (1955), Some Like It Hot (1959)

Some of her iconic moments…

‘Happy Birthday, Mr President’.

Seven Year Itch subway vent scene in that white dress

Style Icon

136-368

tumblr_m8iqa3fJ3e1qepf8yo1_500

style-icon-marilyn-monroe-marry--large-msg-132699715692

marilyn-monroe-seven-year-itch-white-dress-color

Quotes

I’m selfish, impatient, and a little insecure. I make mistakes, I’m out of control, and at times hard to handle. But if you can’t handle me at my worst, then you sure as hell don’t deserve me at my best.

Give a girl the right shoes, and she can conquer the world.

No one ever told me I was pretty when I was a little girl. All little girls should be told they’re pretty, even if they aren’t.

We should all start to live before we get too old.

Film Quotes

Some Like it Hot 

Story of my life. I always get the fuzzy end of the lollipop.

Real diamonds! They must be worth their weight in gold!

I have this thing about saxophone players, especially tenor sax…I don’t know what it is, they just curdle me. All they have to do is play eight bars of ‘Come to Me, My Melancholy Baby’ and my spine turns to custard. I get goose pimply all over…

Gentlemen Prefer Blondes

Don’t you know that a man being rich is like a girl being pretty? You wouldn’t marry a girl just because she’s pretty, but my goodness, doesn’t it help?

How to Marry a Millionaire

I want to marry Rockefeller.

Her death from an overdose of barbiturates on 5 August 1962, yet the exact circumstances surrounding her death continues to be subject to conjecture.

Marilyn had three marriages all of which ended in divorce. Her first marriage in 1942 was when she was only 16 years of age to sheet metal worker James Dougherty. Her second marriage was to retired baseball star Joe DiMaggio in 1954, but they divorced later that year. In 1956 she married playwright Arthur Miller.

Marilyn-Monroe20

Leave a Reply

