Leave a comment

Summer’s Almost Over

setting sun

Well, here in Britain summer never really began. Sure we’ve had some lovely weather days, blue skies, warm weather, but they have been few and far between. Not to say that we’ve had a bad summer vis-a-vis weather. On the whole it’s been pretty dry, fairly warm, but mostly a bit murky and miserable at times. But that’s British weather for you.

Oh and the weather so know’s when its the middle of the week and the weekend, saving all the glorious weather for Tuesdays and Wednesdays, and being pretty disappointing at the weekends.

But I’m not talking ‘summer’s over’ regarding the weather, it has been my first year in my new job where I work term-time. Normally, ever since university I have worked all year round envying those who had the summer off. When my turn came I have found it to be challenging at times. I was a little reticent at first, worried that I wouldn’t find things to do. In actuality I’ve struggled to find the oomph required to do all the things I could have been doing.

That’s the thing about being in a routine. I got used to being in a ‘going to work’ routine, that I was able to maximise my time out of work to fit in all the housework, and of course my writing.

With no routine like this, I had to find a new routine. I’m ashamed to say that I didn’t really find it. Sure I’ve had a lovely time off. I’ve relaxed in the sun – when it’s been around. I’ve met up with family. I’ve done some gardening too.

But that about sums it up – ‘some’. I’ve done bits and pieces of lots of things. Sounds great – but it means that I’ve super neglected my writing. Sure I’ve done some but I hoped and planned that I’d be further along then I am.

I think probably the main reason – aside from pure unadulterated laziness – is procrastination. The kryptonite to all writers. Knowing that I had five weeks off – I thought I had plenty of time.

So I’m looking forward to getting back to my normal routine – that way – even though I have less ‘free’ time to write – I may actually get more writing done.

On the plus side, I have finalised my new publication and it’s now up for download; and after a quick check I have written over 11,500 words. So not bad, but fa from great.

Arrrgggghhh procrastination is a bitch.

Summers-Over

Leave a comment